7 Lessons Learned From 7th Heaven

Some of my friends have some interesting thoughts on this show-mostly negative.

I would just like to say why I like this show and what I’ve learned.

This show was made from 1996-2007, one of the longest running shows ever. Why do you think that is? Most shows that have long running times are successful. You need a lot of viewers for the show to run.

Let me give a little background for you to get a general idea of the show if you haven’t seen it.

There are 7 kid’s in the Camden family. Matt is the oldest, followed by Mary, Lucy, Simon, Ruthie, Samuel, and David. They are ALWAYS getting into trouble. But, they do learn valuable lessons.

Here are a few things I’m learning.

1. LISTEN TO YOUR PARENTS WHEN THEY TELL YOU SOMETHING!!!!!

The older I get, the more I realize how smart my parents are. They know what they’re talking about when they tell you to stay away from dangerous and/or life changing things. They know what is best.

2. When you make mistakes, make things right.

Eric, being a minister, was counseling a woman who was a harlot, and she knew what she was doing. She went and apologized to Annie for trying to steal her husband. Meanwhile, a man from church was flirting with Annie, and he apologized to Eric for flirting with his wife.

3.  Treat others with respect.

Respect is respect. It is hard to show someone else respect when they haven’t shown you any.

Lucy was shopping with Ruthie in a record store when one of Simon’s buddies came up and slapped her backside and called her a very bad name. Then Annie walked up and he threatened her as well. He told her she didn’t show him any respect. Here’s my thoughts. It is kind of hard for her to shown him respect when he showed them none. Just an observation. 🙂

4. Love others, no matter the circumstances.

Mary got into some trouble during season 5, and so Eric and Annie sent her to New York to live with Eric’s parents. They knew they could straiten her out. Mary was mad at Eric and Annie, and honestly with the rest of the family, but they continually loved her. That eventually paid off when she came home.

5. Never give up on something that you have a passion for.

Matt decided to become a doctor. He had never really been responsible or had any goals until he started working at a hospital. He spent years in medical school, and he did become a doctor. He never gave up on it because he had a passion for helping others.

6. Be involved in smart relationships.

Mary dated Robbie Palmer in oh goodness, maybe 2 or 3 seasons, but they ended up being just friends. Matt, Mary, Lucy, Simon, and Ruthie were all at one time involved in bad relationships. Matt with Cheryl, Mary with Robbie (even though I love him), Lucy with Jordan, Simon with Rose, and Ruthie with Martin. But they all learned lessons in those relationships.

7. Put your family first.

Eric and Annie always put their family before their social life. Matt always is willing to move back home if his family needs him. Point being, your family should come before your social life. 🙂

Well guys, this is my little review on 7th Heaven and what I’m learning. Please comment telling me any thoughts you have on the points I mentioned, and let me know your thoughts IF you have seen a lot of the episodes.

Thanks guys!

Anna

About spiritualsparks

My passion is to help teens dive deeper in to God and His Word.

Posted on September 29, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. We love what matters to you and what you pick up on that so honors God! THank you so much for sharing! Love, Miss Suzanne and Rachel! 🙂

  2. I conceive you have remarked some very interesting points , thanks for the post.

  3. Hey guys! Feel free to check out my dad’s blog and website. His blog has some really great tips on just about everything related to family, leadership, church, and sports. He is able to help many people through his blog. Here it is: http://www.briandoddonleadership.com
    Thanks, and tell him I sent you!
    Anna

  4. My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for. Would you offer guest writers to write content available for you? I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write about here. Again, awesome web log!

  5. Thanks for that, dad! 😉
    Love you!!!

  1. Pingback: The Top 10 Leadership Posts I Came Across The Week Of October 1st | Brian Dodd On Leadership

Leave a comment